Work Like You Do Not Need the Money

It’s been 4 years and a few months since I last wrote an entry. Work did take up most of my time during that period.

What about work? Well, I’m still in the same company though a lot did happen in the past few years.

In 2008, I tried to apply for another job just to find out what the market had in store. If I remember correctly, I applied as Management Trainee for a certain bank. After taking the exam and interview, it is unfortunate that they did not offer the position. Instead, they offered a lower position – Roving Teller.

Still, I continued with the process and got interviewed by the head of the cash center of the bank. One thing I learned from the interviewer was sometimes you got to be discreet than honest when it comes to work. Anyway, I passed the interview and was ready to sign the contract but then I had second thoughts.

In the later part of 2009, the supervisor in our department (Loans & Investment) resigned and that’s when I got more involved in loans. Before, I mostly assisted in handling the investments of the company through my boss.

Before 2010 ended, the majority stake (60%) of the company was bought by another corporation. The new management re-named the firm as well.

At first, the feeling was unexplainable as I don’t know what to expect. Even though rank & file employees still have security of tenure, you still entertain thoughts and how it will affect you still lingers at the back of your mind.

I watched The Company Men a few months after and probably some employees felt the way those characters felt in the movie. If I may borrow a quote from the movie, “You know the worst part? The world didn’t stop…My life ended and nobody noticed.”

Also, I was fortunate enough to read Who Moved My Cheese? by Spencer Johnson and this quote from the book couldn’t have been more true:  “What you are afraid of is never as bad as what you imagine. The fear you let build up in your mind is worse than the situation that actually exists.”

Anyway, it has been more than a year since the new management took over and the transition may have been bumpy but I personally think that the company has a brighter future.

Best part about it is I gained new friends along the way.

Image courtesy of doryfour on Flickr.

This entry was posted in Work.

Leave a Reply

